horizontal banner with Preserve America logo and images of a historic downtown, farm, courthouse, and mountain

Preserve America is a national initiative in cooperation with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation; the U.S. Departments of Defense, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, and Education; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities; and the President's Council on Environmental Quality.

The seal of the President of the United StatesAdvisory Council on Historic Preservation logoU.S. Department of the Interior sealU.S. Department of Commerce seal
U.S. Department of Agriculture logo
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development logo













































ACHP Announces 2009 Preserve America Presidential Awards

The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) is accepting nominations through November 1, 2008, for the 2009 Preserve America Presidential Awards that are now open to all exemplary historic preservation and heritage tourism efforts meeting award program criteria.

Nominations for outstanding and innovative heritage tourism projects and programs based upon sustainable use of cultural and natural historic resources also are sought in addition to preservation efforts. This award is honorific (non-monetary).

Four Preserve America Presidential Awards will be presented during Preservation Month in May 2009. Information on past winners and the overall Preserve America initiative are available here.

The 20 recipients of the Preserve America Presidential Award to date are:

Lackawanna Heritage Valley (Pennsylvania)
Blue Ridge Heritage Initiative (Georgia, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia)
The Beaumont Hotel (Ouray, Colorado)
Historic Raven Natural Resource Learning Center (Kootenai National Forest, Montana)

Restoration of The Mount (Lenox, Massachusetts)
Texas Heritage Trails Program (Texas)
Bolduc Historic Properties (Sainte Genevieve, Missouri)
Isaiah Davenport House Museum (Savannah, Georgia)

Mission San Luis (Tallahassee, Florida)
Maryland Heritage Areas Program (Maryland)
Tauck World Discovery Yellowstone Guest-Volunteer Program (Yellowstone National Park, Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming)
Explore the Highway with Hampton Save-A-Landmark® Program (Nationwide)

USS Midway Museum (San Diego, California)
Natchitoches-Cane River Region Heritage Tourism Initiative (Louisiana)
Downtown St. Louis Revitalization (Missouri)
The History Channel: Save Our History (Nationwide)

African Burial Ground Project (New York)
The Corinth and Alcorn County Mississippi Heritage Tourism Initiative (Mississippi)
Lower East Side Tenement Museum (New York)
Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation Program (Texas)


Download 2009 Preserve America Presidential Award nomination form

Download 2008 Presidential Award sample form

Presidential Award helpful hints

For more information contact:
Bruce Milhans

Patricia Knoll